Department of Biology's Undergraduate Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony

You are here

May 3, 2019 - 3:30pm to 4:00pm
Kollros Auditorium (Room 101), Biology Building East (BBE)

All faculty, staff, students, and the general public are invited to the Department of Biology’s Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony on Friday, May 3 at 3:30pm in Kollros Auditorium (BBE). We anticipate the presentation of awards taking approximately 15 minutes followed by refreshments in the BBE Lobby. You are encouraged to attend to recognize these talented undergraduate students and their hard work and outstanding achievements. The list of students being recognized are listed below. Please note that some of these students may not be in attendance at the ceremony. The final department seminar of the semester by Dr. Jing Wang will begin at the regularly scheduled time of 4:00pm.

Biology/Biomedical Sciences Scholarships and Awards
*Claire Carmichael – Arthur J. and Flora D. Levin Teaching Award
*Rebecca Owens – Arthur J. and Flora D. Levin Teaching Award
Pooja Patel (Smolikove Lab) – Arthur J. and Flora D. Levin Award for Outstanding Biology or Biomedical Sciences Honors Student
Ian Fefchak-Robinson (Forbes Lab) – Avis Cone Undergraduate Research Fellowship
Jia Zhao (He Lab) – Clifford W. Hesseltine Award in Biology
Emily Ruba (Slusarski Lab) – Department of Biology Outreach and Engagement Award
**Marissa Roseman (Neiman Lab) – Lowden Prize in Biology
**Travis Larson – Stevens Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship
*There are two recipients of the Arthur J. and Flora D. Levin Teaching Award.
**This scholarship is awarded through the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The following Biology, Biomedical Sciences, and Neuroscience students have been invited to join Phi Beta Kappa – America’s most prestigious academic honor society – for the academic year 2018 – 2019:
John Alderson
John Atagozli
Marc Beer
Merric Bower
Samantha Bral
Cameron Brueck
Akanksha Chilukuri
Jesse Cochran
Victoria Cole
Ryan Fair
Paul Frederick
Joseph Frommelt
Arman Hlas
Jacob Hunter
Grant Hurt
Cameron Keomanivong
Dariya Kozlova
Elizabeth Kruse
Rikki Laser
Dacia Lipkea
Emily Lyon
Jessica Macaluso
Madison Merfeld
Ashlyn Mulcahey
Meredith Nastruz
Sheyna Nathwani
Kelley Pillar
Anthony Piscopo
Nikash Pradhan
Ryan Reis
Brett Shaw
Nick Stange
Brandon Toth
Rebecca Walters
Ryan Williams
Cal Zahn

The following seniors in the Department of Biology will be recognized as a student ambassador for our department and their participation in many recruiting and outreach events:
Talitha Ford                                                                                                       
Lander Geadelmann                                      
Tyler Jackson                                                    
Jenna McCoy
Camille Mumm
Aleisha Norton
Pooja Patel
Emily Ruba
Emily Sullivan
Emily Taylor

These seniors will be recognized for their high level of involvement with the UIBIO student organization:
Maxwell Becker
Alexis Brannan                                                 
Marco Cuellar                                                   
Gabrielle Duncan
Wesley Estrada
Tyler Jackson
Alec James
Timothy Nguyen
Emily Ruba
Emma Thayer