People

You are here

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

List of Faculty members
Name Phone Email Office

Chi-Lien Cheng

Professor

Genetics, Plant Biology
(319) 335-2583 chi-lien-cheng@uiowa.edu 210 Biology Building

Josep Comeron

Professor

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 335-0628 josep-comeron@uiowa.edu 212 Biology Building

Michael Dailey

Associate Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1067 michael-e-dailey@uiowa.edu 369A Biology Building

Daniel Eberl

Professor

Genetics, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1323 daniel-eberl@uiowa.edu 259 Biology Building

Albert Erives

Associate Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Evolution, Genetics
(319) 335-2418 albert-erives@uiowa.edu 424 Biology Building

Jan Fassler

Professor

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 335-1542 jan-fassler@uiowa.edu 202 Biology Building East

Andrew Forbes

Associate Professor

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 335-3006 andrew-forbes@uiowa.edu 434A Biology Building

Steven Green

Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1612 steven-green@uiowa.edu 238 Biology Building East

Bin Z. He

Assistant Professor

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 467-0158 bin-he@uiowa.edu 450 Biology Building

Douglas Houston

Professor, Interim Director, Developmental Studies Hybridoma Bank (DSHB)

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1316 douglas-houston@uiowa.edu 257 Biology Building

Erin Irish

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Undergraduate Education/Director of Undergraduate Studies

Cell and Developmental Biology, Genetics, Plant Biology
(319) 335-2582 erin-irish@uiowa.edu 208 Biology Building

Alan Kay

Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1172 alan-kay@uiowa.edu 336 Biology Building

Ana Llopart

Associate Professor

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 384-1880 ana-llopart@uiowa.edu 469 Biology Building

John Logsdon

Associate Professor

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 335-1082 john-logsdon@uiowa.edu 310 Biology Building

Anna Malkova

Professor

Genetics
(319) 384-1285 anna-malkova@uiowa.edu 331 Biology Building

John Manak

Professor

Genetics, Neurobiology
(319) 335-0180 john-manak@uiowa.edu 449 Biology Building

Bryant McAllister

Associate Professor, Director, Biomedical Sciences Program

Evolution, Genetics
(319) 335-2604 bryant-mcallister@uiowa.edu 222 Biology Building

Maurine Neiman

Professor

Evolution
(319) 384-1814 maurine-neiman@uiowa.edu 324B Biology Building

Bryan Phillips

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Graduate Education/Director of Graduate Studies

Cell and Developmental Biology, Genetics
(319) 335-2071 bryan-phillips@uiowa.edu 200 Biology Building East

Jodie Plumert

Departmental Executive Officer (DEO)/Chair

Biology Administrative Office: (319) 335-1050 jodie-plumert@uiowa.edu Biology Admin Office: 143 BB; Lab Office: 178 PBSB

Veena Prahlad

Associate Professor, Aging Mind & Brain Initiative

Genetics, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1055 veena-prahlad@uiowa.edu 338 Biology Building East

Diane Slusarski

Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Genetics
(319) 335-3229 diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu 246A Biology Building

Sarit Smolikove

Associate Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Genetics
(319) 335-1977 sarit-smolikove@uiowa.edu 308 Biology Building

David Soll

Roy J. and Lucille Carver/Emil Witschi Professor of Biology

Cell and Developmental Biology, Evolution
(319) 335-1117 david-soll@uiowa.edu 302 Biology Building East

Christopher Stipp

Associate Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 335-0192 christopher-stipp@uiowa.edu 3204 MERF

Dan Summers

Assistant Professor

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 467-0919 daniel-summers@uiowa.edu 236 Biology Building East

Joshua Weiner

Professor, Associate Dean for Research, CLAS, Associate Director, Iowa Neuroscience Institute

Cell and Developmental Biology, Neurobiology
(319) 335-0091 joshua-weiner@uiowa.edu 348B Biology Building

Chun-Fang Wu

Professor

Genetics, Neurobiology
(319) 335-1091 chun-fang-wu@uiowa.edu 239A Biology Building

Instructional Track Faculty

List of Instructional Track Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Lori Adams

Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of Biology, Program Director, Iowa Biosciences Academy, Program Director, Latham Science Engagement Initiative

(319) 335-1322 lori-adams@uiowa.edu 169 Biology Building

Amr El Zawily

Lecturer

(319) 467-4662 amr-elzawily@uiowa.edu 108 Biology Building

David Rehard

Lecturer

(319) 353-2971 david-rehard@uiowa.edu 110 Biology Building

Joint Appointment/Visiting Professors

List of Joint Appointment/Visiting Professors
Name Phone Email Office

Mark Blumberg

Professor

Neurobiology
(319) 335-2424 mark-blumberg@uiowa.edu E234 SSH

Amanda Owings

Visiting Assistant Professor

(319) 467-4650 amanda-owings@uiowa.edu 114 Biology Building

Emeritus Faculty

List of Emeritus Faculty members
Name Phone Email Office

George Cain

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 georgecain@comcast.net 143 Biology Building

Wayne Carlson

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 wrcarlsn@aol.com 143 Biology Building

Robert Cruden

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 robert-cruden@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Jeffrey Denburg

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 jeffrey-denburg@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Jean Fitzgerald

Lecturer Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 jean-fitzgerald@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Joseph Frankel

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1110 joseph-frankel@uiowa.edu 429A Biology Building

Bernd Fritzsch

Cell and Developmental Biology, Evolution, Genetics, Neurobiology
(319) 384-1828 bernd-fritzsch@uiowa.edu 214 Biology Building

Brenda Grewe

Associate Professor of Instruction Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 brenda-leicht@uiowa.edu 007 Biology Building East

Gary Gussin

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1113 gary-gussin@uiowa.edu 201 Biology Building East

Steve Hendrix

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1065 stephen-hendrix@uiowa.edu 425 Biology Building

Jeff Klahn

Lecturer Emeritus

(319) 335-1080 jeff-klahn@uiowa.edu 307A Biology Building

Jack Lilien

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 jack-lilien@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Jim (Jung-Ching) Lin

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 jim-lin@uiowa.edu 007 Biology Building East

Robert Malone

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1112 robert-malone@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Ken Mason

Lecturer Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 ken-mason@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Linda Maxson

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 linda-maxson@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Thomas Melchert

Associate Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 143 Biology Building

John Menninger

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 john-menninger@uiowa.edu 007 Biology Building East

Jonathan Poulton

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 jonathan-poulton@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Jeffry Schabilion

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 jeffry-schabilion@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Ming-Che Shih

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 ming-che-shih@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Richard Sjolund

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 rdsjolund@earthlink.net 143 Biology Building

Barbara Stay

Professor Emerita

(319) 335-1050 barbara-stay@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Andy (Wei-Yeh) Wang

Professor Emeritus

(319) 335-1050 andywang@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Graduate Students

List of Grad Students
Name Phone Email Lab Affiliation

Rich Amara

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1214 richard-bowman@uiowa.edu Sarit Smolikove

Sydney Arlis

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-3771 sydney-arlis@uiowa.edu John Manak

John Atagozli

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 335-1126 john-atagozli@uiowa.edu Josep Comeron

Kimberly Bekas

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
(319) 335-2072 kimberly-bekas@uiowa.edu Bryan Phillips

Ryan Betters

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
(319) 335-2695 ryan-betters@uiowa.edu Michael Dailey

Adrianna Caro

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1910 adrianna-caro@uiowa.edu Steven Green

Tirthasree Das

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-3997 tirthasree-das@uiowa.edu Diane Slusarski

Sarah DeLong-Duhon

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 335-1086 sarah-delong-duhon@uiowa.edu Andrew Forbes

Jose Di Paola

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 335-1050 jose-dipaola@uiowa.edu Maurine Neiman

Benjamin Gansemer

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1910 benjamin-gansemer@uiowa.edu Steven Green

Abhishiktha Godthi

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1072 abhishiktha-godthi@uiowa.edu Veena Prahlad

Camille Hanes

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
(319) 335-1328 camille-hanes@uiowa.edu Joshua Weiner

Tara Hicks

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1214 tara-hicks@uiowa.edu Sarit Smolikove

Chelsea Higgins

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 384-1813 chelsea-higgins@uiowa.edu Maurine Neiman

Alaine Hippee

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1086 alaine-hippee@uiowa.edu Andrew Forbes

Emily Hirsch

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 emily-hirsch@uiowa.edu

Joseph Jalinsky

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1083 joseph-jalinsky@uiowa.edu John Logsdon

Matthew Koenig

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
matthew-koenig@uiowa.edu Dan Summers

Rosemary Lee

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 rosemary-lee@uiowa.edu Anna Malkova

Jinye Liang

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 jinye-liang@uiowa.edu Bin Z. He

Anthony Lilienthal

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-3771 anthony-lilienthal@uiowa.edu John Manak

Shulin Liu

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1925 shulin-liu@uiowa.edu Jan Fassler

Kyle Mercer

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 kyle-mercer@uiowa.edu

Sehee Min

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1072 sehee-min@uiowa.edu Veena Prahlad

Kendra Musmaker

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 384-1274 kendra-musmaker@uiowa.edu Anna Malkova

Briante Najev

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 384-1813 briante-najev@uiowa.edu Maurine Neiman

Krishna Madhav Nukala

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-3771 krishnamadhav-nukala@uiowa.edu John Manak

Joseph Oberlitner

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
(319) 335-1214 joseph-oberlitner@uiowa.edu Sarit Smolikove

Brad Orpano

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 335-2583 brad-orpano@uiowa.edu Chi-Lien Cheng

Krista Osadchuk

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-2582 krista-osadchuk@uiowa.edu Erin Irish

Ryan Pellow

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 ryan-pellow@uiowa.edu Josep Comeron

Wren Renquist

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 335-1086 wren-renquist@uiowa.edu Andrew Forbes

Grace Sack

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 384-1813 grace-sack@uiowa.edu Maurine Neiman

Elif Sermet

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 335-1072 elif-sermet@uiowa.edu Veena Prahlad

Sydney Skuodas

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1925 sydney-skuodas@uiowa.edu Jan Fassler

Lindsey Snyder

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
(319) 353-2485 lindsey-f-snyder@uiowa.edu Bin Z. He

David Steffen

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1328 david-steffen@uiowa.edu Joshua Weiner

Emma Thornburg

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
emma-thornburg@uiowa.edu Dan Summers

Hui (Thea) Tian

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1214 hui-tian@uiowa.edu Sarit Smolikove

Ivan Tsai

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 384-1274 meng-chia-tsai@uiowa.edu Anna Malkova

Jerzy Twarowski

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 384-1274 jerzymateusz-twarowski@uiowa.edu Anna Malkova

Maria Valdes Michel

Graduate Student

Interdisciplinary PhD
(319) 335-2072 mariafernanda-valdesmichel@uiowa.edu Bryan Phillips

Jenifer Valdez

Graduate Student

iBio Masters
(319) 353-2055 jenifer-valdez@uiowa.edu Daniel Eberl

Anna Ward

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1086 anna-k-ward@uiowa.edu Andrew Forbes

Jacob Wells

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 jacob-wells@uiowa.edu

Brady Williquett

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 brady-williquett@uiowa.edu

Kelley Withers

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-1050 kelley-withers@uiowa.edu Chi-Lien Cheng

Christopher Youngstrom

Graduate Student

iBio PhD
(319) 335-2583 christopher-youngstrom@uiowa.edu Chi-Lien Cheng

Administrative Staff

List of Administrative Staff
Name Phone Email Office

Carol Adamson

Accountant, University Shared Services

(319) 335-4176 uss-biology@uiowa.edu Working Remotely

Erik Billeci

IT Support Analyst

(319) 467-3942 erik-billeci@uiowa.edu B38 Biology Building

Marlys Boote

Academic Services Coordinator

(319) 335-2043 marlys-boote@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Molly Buhrow

Research Support Manager

(319) 467-0961 molly-buhrow@uiowa.edu 112 Biology Building

Anna Gaw

Senior Academic Advisor

(319) 353-2484 anna-gaw@uiowa.edu 144 Biology Building

Rachel Gold

Application Developer

(319) 335-3240 rachel-gold@uiowa.edu B42A Biology Building

Denise Harder

Grant Administrator

(319) 335-1052 denise-harder@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

David Henson

IT Support Consultant

(319) 467-3937 david-henson@uiowa.edu B38 Biology Building

Steve Kehoe

Administrative Services Coordinator

(319) 335-1051 steve-kehoe@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Rebecca (Becky) Kick

Departmental Administrator

(319) 335-3390 rebecca-kick@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Laura Kowalski-Bliss

Administrative Services Coordinator, Iowa Biosciences Academy

(319) 467-1483 laura-kowalski-bliss@uiowa.edu 169 Biology Building

Hanh Kratz

Design Engineer

(319) 335-1066 hanh-kratz@uiowa.edu B27 Biology Building

Chris Lake

Administrative Services Coordinator

(319) 467-0768 chris-lake@uiowa.edu 143 Biology Building

Ronna Mayberry

Senior Accountant

(319) 335-0577 ronna-mayberry@uiowa.edu 105 Becker Communication Studies Building (BCSB)

Jeremy Richardson

Engineering Coordinator

(319) 335-1066 jeremy-richardson@uiowa.edu B27 Biology Building

Bruce Ritchie

Facility Coordinator

(319) 335-1060 robert-ritchie@uiowa.edu 115 Biology Building East

Brinda Shetty

Associate Director, Iowa Biosciences Academy, Science Alliance, and Latham Science Engagement Fellowship Program

(319) 335-0964 brinda-shetty@uiowa.edu 169 Biology Building

Instructional Staff

List of Instructional Staff
Name Phone Email Office

Angela Cordle

Instructional Services Specialist

(319) 335-0594 angela-cordle@uiowa.edu 168 Biology Building

Susan Dean

Assistant in Instruction

(319) 335-1050 susan-m-dean@uiowa.edu 168 Biology Building

Erin Edgar

Instructional Services Specialist

(319) 467-1721 erin-edgar@uiowa.edu 133 Biology Building East

Stephanie Haase

Instructional Services Specialist

(319) 384-4470 stephanie-haase@uiowa.edu 133 Biology Building East

John Hass

Assistant in Instruction

(319) 335-1070 john-hass@uiowa.edu 005 Biology Building East

Mark Holbrook

Assistant in Instruction

(319) 335-0346 mark-holbrook@uiowa.edu 005A Biology Building East

Olga Miakotina

Instructional Services Specialist

(319) 335-3503 olga-miakotina@uiowa.edu 168 Biology Building

Will Swain

Adjunct Instructor

will-swain@uiowa.edu 007 Biology Building East

Ray Tallent

Assistant in Instruction

(319) 335-1324 ray-tallent@uiowa.edu 407 Biology Building East

Kristine Williams

Assistant in Instruction

(319) 384-1273 kristine-may@uiowa.edu 168 Biology Building

Postdoctoral Research Scholars

List of Postdoctoral Research Scholars
Name Phone Email Office

Johnny Cruz Corchado

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

(319) 335-1072 johnny-cruzcorchado@uiowa.edu 332 Biology Building East

Srijit Das

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

(319) 335-1072 srijit-das@uiowa.edu 332 Biology Building East

Atulya Iyengar

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

(319) 335-1084 atulya-iyengar@uiowa.edu 007 Biology Building East

Liping Liu

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

(319) 384-1274 liping-liu@uiowa.edu 331 Biology Building

Vivek Kumar Srivastava

Postdoctoral Research Scholar

(319) 353-2485 vivekkumar-srivastava@uiowa.edu 450 Biology Building

Research Staff

List of Research Staff
Name Phone Email Office

Brian Berger

Research Associate

(319) 335-1064 brian-berger@uiowa.edu 301 Biology Building East

Paul Clark

Genomics Technician/Fly Kitchen Coordinator

(319) 384-1927 paul-e-clark@uiowa.edu B35 Biology Building

Amy Clemons

Research Assistant

(319) 335-2072 amy-clemons@uiowa.edu 214 Biology Building East

Karla Daniels

Associate Research Scientist

(319) 384-1818 karla-daniels@uiowa.edu 028 Biology Building East

Leah Fuller

Research Associate

(319) 335-1328 leah-fuller@uiowa.edu 355 Biology Building

Rebecca Glover

Research Associate

(319) 335-1064 rebecca-glover@uiowa.edu 307 Biology Building East

Ning Hu

Associate Research Scientist

(319) 335-1910 ning-hu@uiowa.edu 232 Biology Building East

Mei-Ling Joiner

Research Assistant

mei-ling-joiner@uiowa.edu

Catherine Kane

Research Associate

(319) 335-1910 catherine-kane@uiowa.edu 232 Biology Building East

Jennifer Kersigo

Research Associate

(319) 335-1089 jennifer-kersigo@uiowa.edu 217 Biology Building

Nicole Kohler

Admin Services Coordinator

(319) 335-1033 nicole-kohler@uiowa.edu 028 Biology Building East

Mitch Larsen

Admin Services Coordinator

(319) 384-1827 mitch-larsen@uiowa.edu 028 Biology Building East

Daniel Lusche

Associate Research Scientist

(319) 335-1057 daniel-lusche@uiowa.edu 306 Biology Building East

Yang-Nim Park

Associate Research Scientist

(319) 335-1116 yangnim-park@uiowa.edu 314 Biology Building East

Claude Pujol

Associate Research Scientist

(319) 335-1116 claude-pujol@uiowa.edu 314 Biology Building East

Karen Thompson

Assistant Research Scientist

(319) 335-1089 karen-elliott@uiowa.edu 217 Biology Building

Cindy Toll

Manager, Carver Center for Genomics (CCG)

(319) 335-1059 cindy-toll@uiowa.edu 236 Biology Building

Atsushi Ueda

Assistant Research Scientist

(319) 335-1084 atsushi-ueda@uiowa.edu 235 Biology Building

Brian Watson

Admin Services Coordinator

(319) 335-3363 brian-watson@uiowa.edu 028 Biology Building East

Deborah Wessels

Associate Research Scientist

(319) 335-2883 deborah-wessels@uiowa.edu 014 Biology Building East